Starting A New In-Situ Project:The White-Bellied Heron in Bhutan

Register Now

San Diego Zoo Global Webinar Series

Wednesday, July 31, 2013 - 1pm EST / 10am PST

POSTPONED - Starting A New In-Situ Project:The White-Bellied Heron in Bhutan

Presenter: Don Sterner

Duration - approximately 1 hour

THIS WEBINAR HAS BEEN POSTPONED. IT WILL BE RESCHEDULED.

It's one thing to become involved in an in-situ project that has already been established. It is quite another to start one from scratch in a little-known country with very little information. This webinar will describe an in-situ project in the extreme: the beginning, the preparation considerations, the trials, triumphs and the future.

San Diego Zoo Global Webinar Series

Universal Design – Equal Access to All

Register Now

San Diego Zoo Global Webinar Series

Wednesday, October 23, 2013 - 3pm EST / 12pm PST

Universal Design – Equal Access to All

Presenter: Mark Trieglaff

Duration - approximately 1 hour

The intent of Universal Design is to provide “Life Span” or “Barrier Free” designs. That means that products and the built environment are designed in a way that everyone is able to use it, no matter a person’s age or ability. The design is not only intended for a person with a disability but also for a child or shorter adult to easily use in an inclusive way.

 

This session will review the history of Universal Design, what makes it different and more effective than present accessibility codes, and examples of how these can be included into zoo, aquarium and museum designs.

San Diego Zoo Global Webinar Series